Arab Steel Summit
SMS group
Arab Steel Summit

Emirates Steel Arkan Recognized as “2024 Steel Sustainability Champion”

Emirates Steel Arkan (ESA), one of the largest publicly traded steel and building materials manufacturers in the region, announces its recognition as a 2024 Steel Sustainability Champion by the World Steel Association (worldsteel). This prestigious accolade, now in its seventh year, celebrates companies showcasing exemplary commitment to sustainable development within the global steel industry.

Emirates Steel Arkan stands as the only company in the Middle East and North Africa region and among 12 companies worldwide to receive this honor, a result of its efforts to enhance sustainability in its operational practices throughout the year 2023.
Commenting on this achievement, Saeed Alghafri, CEO of Emirates Steel, an Emirates Steel Arkan company, said, “Being named a 2024 Steel Sustainability Champion is a testament to our relentless pursuit of sustainable practices. In 2023, we achieved significant milestones such as launching the first green hydrogen steel pilot project in MENA in collaboration with Masdar. Additionally, our accomplishments include 11% year-on-year reduction of absolute emissions, a 45% increase in renewable energy consumption, and the utilization of 84% clean electricity. These achievements highlight our dedication to minimizing our environmental footprint through innovation and environmental stewardship.”

Emirates Steel Arkan’s production process sets industry benchmarks, utilizing 45% less carbon to the industry average. This achievement is a result of a strategic focus on clean energy utilization, scrap and recyclables utilization, and Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Storage (CCUS).

The Steel Sustainability Champions Programme, administered by worldsteel, recognizes companies that fulfill stringent criteria, including signing the worldsteel Sustainability Charter, meeting 20 sustainability criteria, providing Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) data, and participating in worldsteel’s initiatives such as the Steelie Awards or the Safety and Health Recognition Programme.


Related News


Latest News